AUCKLAND (09) 378-0411       HAMILTON (07) 838-0700       WELLINGTON (04) 472-4830      CHRISTCHURCH (03) 365-5020      |      
Home Courses IT3SLC: ITIL Service Lifecycle Continual Service Improvement


IT3SLC: ITIL Service Lifecycle Continual Service Improvement

Length: 4 Days    Cost: $2,895 + GST    Version: ITIL®

= Scheduled class    = Guaranteed to run    = Fully booked
Click on the dates to book online

Can't find a class in your area? Contact our sales team and request a class date.

About this Course

The ITIL Continual Service Improvement course enables you to gain a deep understanding of the ITIL Continual Service Improvement phase to enhance the quality of IT service provision. It covers the management and control of the activities and techniques within the Continual Service Improvement stage, but not the detail of each of the supporting processes.


This course is aimed at: CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisory staff, team leaders, designers, architects, planners, IT consultants, IT audit managers, IT security managers, service test managers and ITSM trainers.


A pass in the ITIL V3 or 2011 Foundation certificate or the ITIL V2-V3 Bridging certificate from either EXIN, ISEB or APMG. Proof will need to be provided before attending the course. Candidates should have exposure to basic concepts in IT and related work experience of at least two years.

At Course Completion

On completion of the course candidates can expect to gain competencies in the following:

  • Introduction to Continual Service Improvement
  • Continual Service Improvement principles
  • Continual Service Improvement process
  • Continual Service Improvement methods and techniques
  • Organisation for Continual Service Improvement
  • Technology for Continual Service Improvement
  • Implementation considerations
  • Critical success factors and risks


Exam and Professional Qualification:

Students should complete at least 21 hours of personal study by reviewing the syllabus and the Continual Service Improvement book in preparation for the examination. The examination consists of a complex multiple choice, closed book paper of 8 questions, to be completed in 90 minutes. Those passing the exam will attain 3 credits towards the ITIL Expert qualification.

Course Outline

Key Topics:

  • Introduction to CSI
  • CSI principles, purpose and objectives
  • Continual Service Improvement process
  • 7-step improvement process
  • Service Reporting
  • Service Measurement
  • CSI integration with the other stages in the Service Lifecycle
  • Return on Investment for CSI
  • Methods and techniques
  • Assessments and gap analysis
  • Benchmarking, Measuring and Reporting
  • Deming Cycle and service improvement
  • Availability and capacity management techniques
  • Risk management to identify improvement
  • Problem management and CSI
  • Organising for CSI
  • Technology considerations surrounding ITIL Continual Service Improvement
  • Implementation of Continual Service Improvement
  • Exercises and discussions to consolidate the learning experience and understand how to implement the practice
  • Exam preparation, revision and mock examination
  • Examination on the final day

 Print this page